Tech soccer opens at San Diego State, New Mexico

Africa Asia Australia Business Canada Europe Health Latin America Los Angeles News Middle East Science Tech UK Uncategorized USA World

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech’s fall season will open Thursday in California with a road stint at San Diego State. The Red Raiders will head south to Albuquerque following their tilt with the Aztecs to face neighboring New Mexico.

The Aztecs have been a consistent member of Tech’s non-conference schedule in recent years, with the Red Raiders playing the Mountain West side each of the last three years. Tech will carry a perfect 3-0-0 record against the squad into the fourth iteration. The competitiveness of the contests has also been consistent, as every match has been decided by just one goal.

Tech took down SDSU by scores of 1-0 in both 2016 and 2017. Last fall marked the first time the Aztecs found the back of the net against the Red Raider defense, but it was to no avail – goals by Jade King (2′) and Kirsten Davis (35′) had already proven to be enough scoring to give the visitors from Lubbock the win.

Tech’s history with the Lobos is more extensive. Heading into Sunday’s contest – the 12th meeting between the two programs – the Red Raiders have clipped New Mexico in each of the last five games.

Despite opening the campaign away from the home crowd, the Red Raiders are confident in the atmosphere they are able to create.

“Road games are tough because there is only a small crowd that travels,” said defender Cassie Hiatt. “But our bench and those fans carry this team on the road and make a great atmosphere for us to compete in.”

Tech’s game against the Aztecs will kick off at 9 p.m. CT (7 p.m. PT) and will be streamed here. Live stats will be available here. The tilt against the Lobos will get underway at 8 p.m. CT (7 p.m. MT). The New Mexico game will be streamed here, with live stats available here.

Leave a Reply